History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Copy
Rss
The Third Act Podcast
We watch a lot of films, have a lot of opinions on films, and are just pretentious enough to think that you care
Category: TV & Film
Location:
Followers (4)
Currently following. Unfollow
Picture?width=25&height=25 Image_nophoto Image_nophoto Picture?width=25&height=25
by The Third A...
x
take it with you
Iphone5s_trans go mobile with PodOmatic's new iPhone app.
don't have an iPhone? no problem »
x
loading results... Loader
loading results... Loader
x
No results found.
November 05, 2017 05:18 PM PST

On the hundred and seventh episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is feeling particularly slinky. After a short Comcast-related delay we are back to discuss a couple under the radar gems. Our first film review is for a domestic drama and creature feature THE UNTAMED. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's semi-autobiographical Malcolm X follow up, Crooklyn. Finally, we dig into Sean Baker's look at life on the fringes of DisneyWorld in THE FLORIDA PROJECT. We also discuss ping pong, the new incarnation of The Garage, and (of course) Armando sleeping while watching a movie.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

October 15, 2017 11:21 PM PDT

On the one hundred and sixth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is dreaming of electric reboots. After an extra week off we are back to discuss arty multiplex offerings and touchy social issues. Our first film review is a unique vision of modern terrorism in NOCTURAMA. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's epic biopic, Malcom X. Finally, we dig into the long-awaited(?) sequel, BLADE RUNNER 2049. We also discuss moving, that sound Hans Zimmer is obsessed with, and Jared Leto's coat.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 18, 2017 11:25 PM PDT

On the one hundred and fifth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is weighing the virtues of nihilism. We are back to discuss a couple spooky films this week. Our first new film review is for the horror remake/box office sensation, IT. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's interracial romance drama, Jungle Fever. Finally, we review the latest nightmare from Darren Aronofsky, the disturbing parable, MOTHER! We also discuss Stevie Wonder, giant clown heads, and Bardem's bordello of blood.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 13, 2017 08:23 PM PDT

On the one hundred and fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is wishing they used a Baja Blast bottle in the Safdie Brothers film instead. We welcome Armando back to the show after his globetrotting so we can finally get back to business. Our first new film review is for the frenetic crime thriller, GOOD TIME. We get back to our Auteurography segment and discuss Spike Lee's follow up to a masterpiece, the jazz musician drama, Mo Better Blues. Finally, we review the latest autobiographical opus from Alejandro Jodorowsky, ENDLESS POETRY. We also discuss erections, Instagram, and farting at the circus.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

August 27, 2017 10:40 AM PDT

For this bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is standing on the shoulders of Soderbergh. While Armando is still away, Christian and Jericho catch up on some blindspots from Soderbergh's filmography before checking out his latest vehicle. After briefly mentioning our recent experience with some of Soderbergh's films we take a deep dive on his debut SEX, LIES, AND VIDEOTAPE and James Spader's performance. Rounding out the show we discuss LOGAN LUCKY and the unique ways Soderbergh used to make this film. Does Soderbergh's coming out of retirement film land with a whimper or a (Joe) bang?
We also discuss Peter Gallagher's eyebrows, hard boiled eggs, and The Thong Song.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

August 12, 2017 11:45 PM PDT

On the one hundred and third episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is wearing nothing but bedsheets. We just returned from hiatus and we've already lost one of our members, so we enlist podcast veteran Robert Gassaway to join us to talk about a couple of very differ horror-adjacent indie films. Our first new film review is for the experimental gross out comedy, KUSO. We then dig into a Mike Leigh classic about working class British families called All or Nothing. Finally, we dig into the polarizing grief meditation film, A GHOST STORY. We also discuss Tim Heidecker in a toilet, butthole cockroaches, and anuses found in nature (actually that was all in just one of the movies).

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com?TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

July 27, 2017 12:32 AM PDT

On the one hundred and second episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew has returned! After 3ish months apart we get together and catch up on a ton of film discussion. Our new film review is for Christopher Nolan's WW2 spectacle, DUNKIRK. For our auteurography segment we discuss a hot summer day in Brooklyn in Spike Lee's masterpiece, DO THE RIGHT THING. Finally, for a Recently Watched XXL segment, we each recommend a couple of films we watched during the hiatus including- The Big Sick, The Beguiled, It's Only the End of the World, and more. We also discuss Armando using Skype all on his own, taking showers in the middle of the workday, and wonder what the best cat movie of all time is.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

April 24, 2017 06:38 PM PDT

On the one hundred and first episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew stares into the void and ponders about whether or not the end is nigh. After surviving bachelor party weekend we reconvene to discuss our time at the San Francisco International Film Festival and the rest of our shenanigans. Our first film review is the for the surprisingly spooky Kristen Stewart ghost story, PERSONAL SHOPPER. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's intra-racial conflict musical, School Daze. Finally, we check out Terrence Malick's latest whisper-y meditation on life and love, SONG TO SONG. We also discuss grilled cheese, horndoggin, and Val Kilmer with a chainsaw.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

March 31, 2017 11:46 PM PDT

It's our hundredth episode!
We are finally ready to reveal our highly anticipated(?) Episode 100. We celebrate our centennial with little reverence. Segments include- a jumbo-sized return of Shitty Trailers of the Week, discussion of each of our 100th favorite films, and we make a list called The Third Act Top 100. This is more nostalgia than film criticism, but if you have been pining for Baja Blast, Dan the Intern, and Rip Torn references then this is the episode for you.

Thanks to everyone who has bothered to listen to us over the last 4+ years even though Armando still hasn't seen The Fountain.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

March 08, 2017 07:41 PM PST

On the ninety-ninth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew tries to stay woke. Our first film up for review is a documentary based on the unpublished writings of James Baldwin called I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO. We bring back the Auteurography segment after a brief hiatus. This time around we will be discussing Spike Lee joints in chronological order, so for this episode we discuss his feminist-leaning debut, She's Gotta Have It. Finally, we check out the latest film from the great Asghar Farhadi, the recent Oscar winner, THE SALESMAN. We also unleash our new intro, discuss racial and sexual politics, and begin a year long tongue lashing against Mel Gibson.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

loading more... Loader
 
x

take it with you


Iphone_trans Listening to podcasts on your mobile devices is extremely convenient -- and it's what makes the podcasting medium so powerful.

You can take your favorite shows and mixes with you anywhere, but to do so requires some quick and simple steps.

Let's walk you through that process together.
step 1:


Click the "Subscribe With iTunes" link in the page's sidebar:

Subscribe_with_itunes

This will require that you have the iTunes software on your computer.

(You can download iTunes here.)
step 2:
Itunes_ss

Now that you've subscribed to the podcast on iTunes, the feed will display in your "Podcasts" section on the left navigation bar.

Click there and you'll see the show displayed in the iTunes browser.

You can "get all" to download all available episodes or just individual episodes.
step 3:


Plug your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into your computer with the Dock Connector cable, and click the device in iTunes's left navigation bar.

Itunes_ss2

Once you have your device highlighted, click "Podcasts" in the top navigation bar and sync the podcasts you want on your device. Click "apply" and the episodes you have downloaded on your iTunes software will sync with your device.
that's it!

The beauty of this process is that now, every new episode of your subscribed podcasts will automatically sync to your device every time you plug it in and open iTunes. You can now take your favorite shows with you everywhere you go.

Enjoy!
done!
x

share this podcast


Email a friend about this podcast
x

subscribe to this podcast

Rss-icon RSS
Itunes-icon iTunes