History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Copy
Rss
The Third Act Podcast
We watch a lot of films, have a lot of opinions on films, and are just pretentious enough to think that you care
Category: TV & Film
Location:
Followers (4)
Currently following. Unfollow
Picture?width=25&height=25 Image_nophoto Image_nophoto Picture?width=25&height=25
by The Third A...
x
take it with you
Iphone5s_trans go mobile with PodOmatic's new iPhone app.
don't have an iPhone? no problem »
x
loading results... Loader
loading results... Loader
x
No results found.
January 22, 2018 08:06 PM PST

On the one hundred and eleventh episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew lines up to get their measurements taken. We are back and hungry to cram. First up we review the hotly anticipated, Paul Thomas Anderson film, PHANTOM THREAD. The rest of the episode is dedicated to talking about as many films as possible (26 total) with the assistance of Muzak-tuned timer.
Films discussed during Cram Session- CALL ME BY YOUR NAME, THE POST, GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY VOL. 2, HARMONIUM, I TONYA, LUCKY, INGRID GOES WEST, BRAWL IN CELL BLOCK 99, RAT FILM, LOVESONG, ACTOR MARTINEZ, A QUIET PASSION, I OLGA HEPNAROVA, SHOT CALLER, FACES PLACES, SUPER DARK TIMES, MY LIFE AS A ZUCCHINI, FIVE CAME BACK, MOLLY'S GAME, ANTIPORNO, THIRST STREET, HERMIA & HELENA, 4 DAYS IN PARIS, THE WORK, and THE DEATH OF LOUIS XIV.
Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 31, 2017 10:16 AM PST

On this special bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST we finally give our final verdict on Porgs. We couldn't let 2017 end without getting our thoughts out there on the biggest movie of the year. We recap our thoughts on the recent Star Wars movies and Rian Johnson's filmography before jumping into THE LAST JEDI. We also discuss vegetarianism, lactating giraffe-walruses, and Benicio del Turbo.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 19, 2017 09:58 PM PST

On the one hundred and tenth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is back to celebrate the most important holiday of all, Flicksmas. Our first new film review is for James Franco's love letter to a bad moviemaker, THE DISASTER ARTIST. For our 5th time gathering around the Flicksmas tree we open our gifts of- Peeping Tom, Red Beard, and Faust. Finally, we check out a sophomore film about a closeted teenager, BEACH RATS. Also, Christian is anticipating the inevitable Porg future, Armando says "come" and "on" a lot, and Jericho looks out into the void and asks "why?"

Be sure to check out the other half of the Flicksmas festivities on episode 147 of The Flicksation Podcast.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 08, 2017 09:28 PM PST

On the one hundred and ninth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is taking the law into their own hands. As the year winds down we are ramping up with all sorts of high profile films to discuss. The first film up for review is the prestige Netflix original, MUDBOUND. For our Auteurography segment, we check out one of Spike Lee's least appreciated experiments, Girl 6. Finally, we talk about the foul-mouthed Frances McDormand vehicle, THREE BILLBOARDS OUTSIDE EBBING, MISSOURI. We also discuss a horny Quentin Tarantino, whether or not Hedlund haunts, and hazy memories of Flicksmas past.

Keep in touch with us on facebook: www.Facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

November 28, 2017 05:00 AM PST

On the one hundred and eighth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is marveling at all the wondrous sites of Sacramento on the big screen. We are in high spirits as we gather to discuss a couple indie darlings. Our first new film review is for the striking debut drama, COLUMBUS. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's take on a popular 90s subgenre (gangster movies) with Clockers. Finally, we discuss the surreal experience of seeing Greta Gerwig's Sacramento love letter, LADY BIRD. We also discuss 3D, Jackie Chan, and Dave Matthews Band.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

November 05, 2017 05:18 PM PST

On the hundred and seventh episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is feeling particularly slinky. After a short Comcast-related delay we are back to discuss a couple under the radar gems. Our first film review is for a domestic drama and creature feature THE UNTAMED. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's semi-autobiographical Malcolm X follow up, Crooklyn. Finally, we dig into Sean Baker's look at life on the fringes of DisneyWorld in THE FLORIDA PROJECT. We also discuss ping pong, the new incarnation of The Garage, and (of course) Armando sleeping while watching a movie.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

October 15, 2017 11:21 PM PDT

On the one hundred and sixth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is dreaming of electric reboots. After an extra week off we are back to discuss arty multiplex offerings and touchy social issues. Our first film review is a unique vision of modern terrorism in NOCTURAMA. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's epic biopic, Malcom X. Finally, we dig into the long-awaited(?) sequel, BLADE RUNNER 2049. We also discuss moving, that sound Hans Zimmer is obsessed with, and Jared Leto's coat.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 18, 2017 11:25 PM PDT

On the one hundred and fifth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is weighing the virtues of nihilism. We are back to discuss a couple spooky films this week. Our first new film review is for the horror remake/box office sensation, IT. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Spike Lee's interracial romance drama, Jungle Fever. Finally, we review the latest nightmare from Darren Aronofsky, the disturbing parable, MOTHER! We also discuss Stevie Wonder, giant clown heads, and Bardem's bordello of blood.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 13, 2017 08:23 PM PDT

On the one hundred and fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the crew is wishing they used a Baja Blast bottle in the Safdie Brothers film instead. We welcome Armando back to the show after his globetrotting so we can finally get back to business. Our first new film review is for the frenetic crime thriller, GOOD TIME. We get back to our Auteurography segment and discuss Spike Lee's follow up to a masterpiece, the jazz musician drama, Mo Better Blues. Finally, we review the latest autobiographical opus from Alejandro Jodorowsky, ENDLESS POETRY. We also discuss erections, Instagram, and farting at the circus.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

August 27, 2017 10:40 AM PDT

For this bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is standing on the shoulders of Soderbergh. While Armando is still away, Christian and Jericho catch up on some blindspots from Soderbergh's filmography before checking out his latest vehicle. After briefly mentioning our recent experience with some of Soderbergh's films we take a deep dive on his debut SEX, LIES, AND VIDEOTAPE and James Spader's performance. Rounding out the show we discuss LOGAN LUCKY and the unique ways Soderbergh used to make this film. Does Soderbergh's coming out of retirement film land with a whimper or a (Joe) bang?
We also discuss Peter Gallagher's eyebrows, hard boiled eggs, and The Thong Song.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

loading more... Loader
 
x

take it with you


Iphone_trans Listening to podcasts on your mobile devices is extremely convenient -- and it's what makes the podcasting medium so powerful.

You can take your favorite shows and mixes with you anywhere, but to do so requires some quick and simple steps.

Let's walk you through that process together.
step 1:


Click the "Subscribe With iTunes" link in the page's sidebar:

Subscribe_with_itunes

This will require that you have the iTunes software on your computer.

(You can download iTunes here.)
step 2:
Itunes_ss

Now that you've subscribed to the podcast on iTunes, the feed will display in your "Podcasts" section on the left navigation bar.

Click there and you'll see the show displayed in the iTunes browser.

You can "get all" to download all available episodes or just individual episodes.
step 3:


Plug your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into your computer with the Dock Connector cable, and click the device in iTunes's left navigation bar.

Itunes_ss2

Once you have your device highlighted, click "Podcasts" in the top navigation bar and sync the podcasts you want on your device. Click "apply" and the episodes you have downloaded on your iTunes software will sync with your device.
that's it!

The beauty of this process is that now, every new episode of your subscribed podcasts will automatically sync to your device every time you plug it in and open iTunes. You can now take your favorite shows with you everywhere you go.

Enjoy!
done!
x

share this podcast


Email a friend about this podcast
x

subscribe to this podcast

Rss-icon RSS
Itunes-icon iTunes