History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Copy
Rss
The Third Act Podcast
We watch a lot of films, have a lot of opinions on films, and are just pretentious enough to think that you care
Category: TV & Film
Location:
Followers (4)
Currently following. Unfollow
Picture?width=25&height=25 Image_nophoto Image_nophoto Picture?width=25&height=25
by The Third A...
x
take it with you
Iphone5s_trans go mobile with PodOmatic's new iPhone app.
don't have an iPhone? no problem »
x
loading results... Loader
loading results... Loader
x
No results found.
February 18, 2017 06:28 PM PST

On the ninety-eighth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, we say farewell to 2016 (and it only took us 6 weeks into 2017 to do so). On this first part of our 2016 roundup we share of top 10 lists, honorable mentions, and general thoughts on what the last calendar year brought us in film. We also try not to talk about the Oscars, listen to Jericho talk about movies that only he has seen, and argue (again) about La La Land.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

February 01, 2017 09:58 PM PST

On the ninety-seventh episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the void has been filled. The crew welcomes Armando back to discuss some of the last heavy hitters standing from 2016. The first film up for review is the foreign language familial comedy, TONI ERDMANN. Next, we discuss a coming of age film starring some of the best actresses working today, 20TH CENTURY WOMEN. Finally, we discuss the mostly ignored religious opus from Martin Scorsese, SILENCE. We also discuss whoopee cushions, menstruation, and whether Crudup is cruddy or crushes.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

January 17, 2017 09:18 PM PST

On the ninety-sixth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, there was a void.
While Armando is trying to escape Trump's America, Christian are Jericho are left back at home to cram the night away. For the 4th annual "Cram Session" segment we discuss 21 films from 2016 that we crammed in viewings of before we close the book on that year. Without Armando there is a lot of rambling on this episode, and there are probably way to many mentions of both "bangers" and "boners." It's awkward. We're sorry. You're welcome?

Films discussed:
SHIN GODZILLA, CREEPY, FENCES, WHITE GIRL, BANG GANG, VIKTORIA, H., DEMON, LION, OPERATION AVALANCHE, BARRY, THE OTHER SIDE, PATHS OF THE SOUL, HOMO SAPIENS, SUN CHOKE, TOWER, SPA NIGHT, BLUE JAY, TRAIN TO BUSAN, RATS, and (ugh) SING.

Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

January 11, 2017 10:04 PM PST

On this special bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST we discuss Damien Chazelle's latest original musical, LA LA LAND. We have differing opinions on Chazelle's filmography so far, and on musicals in general, so we look at this highly lauded film with a critical eye to see if it is worth all the digital ink that has been spilled for it. Spoiler alert: the disagreement continues and the conversation does get a little heated. Unfortunately, we didn't figure out the answer to the question- what is John Legend up to? Grab your significant other and go for a twirl among the stars while listening to 3 buffoons argue about your new favorite movie.

Keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter. Subscribe to the show. Email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 24, 2016 11:24 PM PST

On the ninety-fifth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAS, the crew is in high spirits while celebrating the most important holiday of all, Flicksmas.
We have another jam-packed episode so we skip Recently Watched to discuss the latest entry in the Disney space opera series, ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STORY. Since we are discussing Star Wars we invite your favorite 5 year old podcaster back for another entry of Dex's Quick Picks in which he schools us on the saga. Then we unwrap our gifts as part of our 4th year participating in our favorite holiday for the Merry Flicksmas segment. Our next new film review is for the anti-biopic, JACKIE. Finally, we dig into the faux-documentary Kate Lyn Shiel vehicle, KATE PLAYS CHRISTINE. We also discuss poker analogies, hyperbole, and the ethics of CG resurrection.

Be sure to check out the other of the Merry Flicksmas festivities on episode 128 of The Flicksation Podcast.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 17, 2016 12:05 PM PST

On the ninety-fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is in the middle of of holiday movie season fever dream.
This is a long rambling episode (what else do you expect?). We skip a segment this episode to do 3 new film reviews. The first review is for Tom Ford's stylish sophomore effort, NOCTURNAL ANIMALS. Then, we finally get to talk in depth about Casey on a dock, who is in fact a lock, in MANCHESTER BY THE SEA. Finally, we get into a spoiler-y conversation about Park Chan-Wook's romantic epic, THE HANDMAIDEN. We also discuss Mr. Belvedere (again), how we can't call Dwayne Johnson "The Rock" anymore, and awkward comparisons to Christian's sickness to historic sports performances. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

November 27, 2016 05:40 PM PST

One the ninety-third episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is reeling from recent events and trying to find solace in (what else?) the movies. The first film up for review is Jeff Nichols' second film of the year, LOVING, which is about an interracial couple and the Supreme Court case about their marriage. Our other new film review is for Denis Villeneuve's contemplative sci-fi film, ARRIVAL. We also discuss Dan the Intern, what Armando is allowed to do on the show, and the other co-hosts try not to make fun of Christian for his ragged emotions.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

November 11, 2016 08:18 PM PST

On the ninety-second episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew saves American cinema. The first film up for review is Kelly Reichardt's predictably minimalist, female-centric film, CERTAIN WOMEN. We finish off our latest Auteurography series by discussing Orson Welles' final film, the playful documentary, F for Fake. Finally, we discuss the highly lauded film about the life of a black, queer man, MOONLIGHT. We also discuss theaters of Sacramento, the filmography of Robert Altman, and do not mention Donald Trump's America (because this was recorded before the election).

October 27, 2016 12:00 AM PDT

On the ninety-first episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew wants to sell you magazines, but really you are investing in our future. The first film up for review is Ava DuVernay's Netflix documentary about racist aspects of the American justice system, 13TH. For our Auteurography segment, we discuss Orson Welles' final narrative feature, and amalgamation of Shakespeare plays, Chimes at Midnight. Finally, we discuss Andrea Arnold's epic damaged youth movie, AMERICAN HONEY. We also discuss Orson Welle's weight, cooking pot crowns, and Shia's suspenders.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

October 18, 2016 06:05 PM PDT

On the ninetieth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew has committed a crime, but they will never know what it was. The new films of the last couple weeks didn't pique our collective interest, so we decided to double dip on classic film and discuss the Criterion Collection approved Japanese gangster film, TOKYO DRIFTER. Then, we continue our run through Orson Welles' filmography and discuss the criminally under-appreciated THE TRIAL. Finally, we turn to Netflix for our lone new film discussion and talk about the understated, Venezuelan film, FROM AFAR. We also discuss who we are voting for, nude wedding gifts, and start a letter writing campaign to benefit The Trial live on the air. 
Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

loading more... Loader
 
x

take it with you


Iphone_trans Listening to podcasts on your mobile devices is extremely convenient -- and it's what makes the podcasting medium so powerful.

You can take your favorite shows and mixes with you anywhere, but to do so requires some quick and simple steps.

Let's walk you through that process together.
step 1:


Click the "Subscribe With iTunes" link in the page's sidebar:

Subscribe_with_itunes

This will require that you have the iTunes software on your computer.

(You can download iTunes here.)
step 2:
Itunes_ss

Now that you've subscribed to the podcast on iTunes, the feed will display in your "Podcasts" section on the left navigation bar.

Click there and you'll see the show displayed in the iTunes browser.

You can "get all" to download all available episodes or just individual episodes.
step 3:


Plug your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into your computer with the Dock Connector cable, and click the device in iTunes's left navigation bar.

Itunes_ss2

Once you have your device highlighted, click "Podcasts" in the top navigation bar and sync the podcasts you want on your device. Click "apply" and the episodes you have downloaded on your iTunes software will sync with your device.
that's it!

The beauty of this process is that now, every new episode of your subscribed podcasts will automatically sync to your device every time you plug it in and open iTunes. You can now take your favorite shows with you everywhere you go.

Enjoy!
done!
x

share this podcast


Email a friend about this podcast
x

subscribe to this podcast

Rss-icon RSS
Itunes-icon iTunes