History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Copy
Rss
The Third Act Podcast
We watch a lot of films, have a lot of opinions on films, and are just pretentious enough to think that you care
Category: TV & Film
Location:
Followers (4)
Currently following. Unfollow
Picture?width=25&height=25 Image_nophoto Image_nophoto Picture?width=25&height=25
by The Third A...
x
take it with you
Iphone5s_trans go mobile with PodOmatic's new iPhone app.
don't have an iPhone? no problem »
x
loading results... Loader
loading results... Loader
x
No results found.
July 26, 2016 07:43 PM PDT

On the eighty-fifth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, bustin makes some of us feel good. With Armando out on assignment, we call upon Robert Gassaway of The Flicksation Podcast to talk films and educate us on New Mexico cuisine. The first film up for review is the female-centric reboot of GHOSTBUSTERS. Next up is the Death Valley-set drama, VALLEY OF LOVE. Finally, we try and make sense out out the late Andrzej Zulawski's final film, COSMOS. We also discuss burritos, vagina stains, and Gerard Depardieu's hat.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

July 13, 2016 05:34 PM PDT

On the eighty-fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, and as always, farts will be our salvation. The first film up for review is Todd Solondz' latest comedic downer, WIENER-DOG. Then, we debut a brand new segment, Flicksmas in July. We unwrap our gift from The Flicksation Podcast, a 1960s Czech New Wave, feminist(?) comedy called Daisies. Finally, we get lowbrow with all the fart and boner humor we can handle and review SWISS ARMY MAN. We also discuss Shane Carruth, the wanton, and diarrhea.

Check out episode 117 of The Flicksation Podcast to hear the other half of the festivities.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

July 05, 2016 02:00 AM PDT

On this bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST we discuss the ESPN 30 for 30 documentary, O.J.: MADE IN AMERICA. All of us thought we were pretty familiar with OJ's story, but after watching the almost 8 hour series we talk about what was new to us from his sports, what else was happening in that, and the post-trial life of OJ. It's heavy stuff, but we also mention our favorite orange juice brand, remember some goofy Hertz commercials, and listen to OJ's terrible attempt at hip hop.

Keep up with us on Facebook and Twitter. Subscribe to the show. Email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

June 30, 2016 02:00 AM PDT

On the eighty-third episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, Jericho and Armando are feeling the heat, so they record from the kitchen. We kick off the show with a bang as Eric Madsen from The Flicksation Podcast stops by to announce our new Flicksmas in July crossover segment. Our first film review is for Mike Nichols' sci-fi road film that just debuted on home video, MIDNIGHT SPECIAL. For our Auteurography segment we discussed Orson Welles' film noir, The Lady from Shanghai. Finally, after a contentious review of his previous film, we review Nicolas Winding Refn's fashion industry horror film, THE NEON DEMON. In this episode we do not discuss Brexit, we do discuss Orson Welles' strange take on an Irish accent, and we completely agree that Keanu Reeves is up to something, and all the while you can hear faint Mariachi music in the distance.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

June 25, 2016 11:41 AM PDT

On the eighty-second of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, Armando succumbed to The Fel so the other 2 hosts must soldier through a record number of reviews without him. Jericho and Christian abandon Recently Watched and any other segments to cram in reviews of 4 features and 1 short film. First off, we discuss a 9 minute short film written by an AI, SUNSPRING. Then, we take on the Horde and review Duncan Jones' video game adaptation, WARCRAFT. We also review an indie horror film, DARLING, and throw out some lofty comparisons. Jane Austen is also discussed for our review of the period piece romantic comedy, LOVE & FRIENDSHIP. Finally, we have our biggest disagreement while discussing the merits of a minimalist war movie from Denmark, A WAR, which was nominated at the most recent Academy Awards. We also discuss the consequences of war, pontificate on how creativity is innately human, and mention "cougars" at an alarming and discomforting rate.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

June 11, 2016 04:36 PM PDT

On the eighty-first episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is looking for love but have wildlife backup plans if that search doesn't end well. The first film up for review is a black and white period piece about an Amazonian shaman, EMBRACE OF THE SERPENT. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Orson Welles' nazi hunt film, THE STRANGER. Finally, we call in the Greek Squad to discuss Yorgos Lanthimos' bizarre romantic comedy, THE LOBSTER. We also discuss whether or not we're going to see Warcraft, what film gives off an Inspector Gadget vibe, and whether or not Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows can be positively compared to a Robert Altman film.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

June 07, 2016 07:56 PM PDT

On this special bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST you are invited to Professor Xavier's Podcast for Gifted Youngsters. While Armando is in an alternate timeline, Christian and Jericho assemble to discuss Bryan Singer's latest mutant opus, X-MEN: APOCALYPSE. We share our thoughts on the fractured franchise thus far, how this film lines up with the other superhero offerings of 2016, and how Apocalypse takes time out of his busy world domination plots to focus on what he really enjoys: fashion.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPodcast and email us anytime at TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

May 28, 2016 01:18 PM PDT

On the eightieth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is trapped in a dingy club and podcasting will be their only way to salvation. The first film up for review is CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR and we offer 2/3 of our opinion and find out if Marvel stays in Jericho's good graces. Next, we catch up with Ben Wheatley's latest trippy film, HIGH-RISE. For our Auteurography segment we discuss Orson Welles' second film, THE MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS, and how to process a film that had such a contested release. Finally, we discuss the horror thriller, GREEN ROOM, but neglect to name our desert island bands. We also discuss William Shakespeare, naked Tom Hiddleston, and debut a new segment called Mondo's Man Date Mandate.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPodcast and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

April 13, 2016 05:00 AM PDT

On the seventy-eighth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew shuns the multiplexes to dig into some older films from a great director. For our third round of Auteurography we discuss the films of Lynne Ramsay. Since she only has 3 feature films we decided to discuss all of them on one episode since there aren't many 2016 films we want to review. First up is her 1999 debut film, the period piece RATCATCHER. Then we discuss the Samantha Morton meandering vehicle MORVERN CALLAR. Finally, we discuss the psychological drama WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. We also try to get Batman v. Superman soundbites, forget the name "Kevin" and discuss angry masturbation faces. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

March 06, 2016 05:00 AM PST

On the seventy-sixth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew stumbles out of the woods for one of the darkest episodes yet. Since there are not a lot of options for new films right now, we discuss some of the TV offerings we've been digging into, including: BROAD CITY, BETTER CALL SAUL, LOVE, TRANSPARENT, TOGETHERNESS, MAKING A MURDERER, FARGO, BASKETS, GIRLS, AND HORACE AND PETE. Then, we finally wrap up our Auteurography segment discussing the films of Pier Paolo Pasolini with a discussion of his final film, SALO, OR THE 120 DAYS OF SODOM. Finally, we review the highly anticipated indie horror film, THE WITCH. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

loading more... Loader
 
x

take it with you


Iphone_trans Listening to podcasts on your mobile devices is extremely convenient -- and it's what makes the podcasting medium so powerful.

You can take your favorite shows and mixes with you anywhere, but to do so requires some quick and simple steps.

Let's walk you through that process together.
step 1:


Click the "Subscribe With iTunes" link in the page's sidebar:

Subscribe_with_itunes

This will require that you have the iTunes software on your computer.

(You can download iTunes here.)
step 2:
Itunes_ss

Now that you've subscribed to the podcast on iTunes, the feed will display in your "Podcasts" section on the left navigation bar.

Click there and you'll see the show displayed in the iTunes browser.

You can "get all" to download all available episodes or just individual episodes.
step 3:


Plug your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into your computer with the Dock Connector cable, and click the device in iTunes's left navigation bar.

Itunes_ss2

Once you have your device highlighted, click "Podcasts" in the top navigation bar and sync the podcasts you want on your device. Click "apply" and the episodes you have downloaded on your iTunes software will sync with your device.
that's it!

The beauty of this process is that now, every new episode of your subscribed podcasts will automatically sync to your device every time you plug it in and open iTunes. You can now take your favorite shows with you everywhere you go.

Enjoy!
done!
x

share this podcast


Email a friend about this podcast
x

subscribe to this podcast

Rss-icon RSS
Itunes-icon iTunes