History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Copy
Rss
The Third Act Podcast
We watch a lot of films, have a lot of opinions on films, and are just pretentious enough to think that you care
Category: TV & Film
Location:
Followers (4)
Currently following. Unfollow
Picture?width=25&height=25 Image_nophoto Image_nophoto Picture?width=25&height=25
by The Third A...
x
take it with you
Iphone5s_trans go mobile with PodOmatic's new iPhone app.
don't have an iPhone? no problem »
x
loading results... Loader
loading results... Loader
x
No results found.
September 28, 2016 07:49 PM PDT

On the eighty-ninth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODAST, the crew is under heavy surveillance and the government clearly wants to know what films we're watching. The first film up for review is Oliver Stone's hero worship take on a recent American icon, SNOWDEN. For our Auteurography segment, we discuss the Orson Welles' classic, Touch of Evil, and the opening tracking shot that is constantly referenced. Finally, we check out the South Korean horror film and crime drama, THE WAILING. We also discuss Nic Cage's hair, Charlton Heston in brownface, and Kevin James.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 22, 2016 08:29 PM PDT

On this very special episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST we talk exclusively about the films of CASEY AFFLECK and the man himself. If this sounds strange then this is probably not an episode for you because really this episode is a birthday present for Christian's wife, Katie.

Casey on a dock is a lock.

September 13, 2016 06:22 PM PDT

On this special bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, Jericho slides into the host's chair to talk to Christian and returning guest Robert Gassaway of The Flicksation Podcast about their time at the 43rd annual Telluride Film Festival. It was both Christian and Robert's third trip to the mountains so they discuss how this trip compared to others, which celebrities (or faux-celebrities) they saw, and what the atmosphere in Colorado was like. Of course, you'll also hear some spoiler-free thoughts on the best films that were screened, a savage takedown of Sully, and a rave review for Snoop Dogg's brand of taffy "Dogg Treats."

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 01, 2016 01:01 AM PDT

On the eighty-eighth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew ruins yet another Turkey Day. The first film up for review is a modern western called HELL OR HIGH WATER. Then, we continue our Auteurography segment and talk about Orson Welles' film Mr. Arkadin or Confidential Report (or whatever the hell you want to call it). Finally, we review the Kickstarter and festival darling, KRISHA. We also discuss XBOX, Orson Welles' continually impressive facial hair, and ABBA.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

August 21, 2016 09:23 PM PDT

On the eighty-seventh episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew isn't really onto 2016. With most theatrical fare lacking in intrigue we decide to spend most of this episode discussing retro films. Before that, we respond to listener mail asking for our thoughts on The Atlantic piece about method acting and ostensibly about Jared Leto's Joker. Christian has been watching Altman films regularly for months, so now it is time to share the wealth and discuss his absurd, bird comedy, BREWSTER MCCLOUD. Next up, we continue going through Orson Welles' films for our Auteurography segment and discuss his second Shakespeare adaptation, OTHELLO. Finally, we discuss other things we've watched for Recently Watched XXL, including: Suicide Squad, Sausage Party, Neon Bull, and more. Jericho also teaches us about alternate ways to consume online content because of course he does.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

April 13, 2016 05:00 AM PDT

On the seventy-eighth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew shuns the multiplexes to dig into some older films from a great director. For our third round of Auteurography we discuss the films of Lynne Ramsay. Since she only has 3 feature films we decided to discuss all of them on one episode since there aren't many 2016 films we want to review. First up is her 1999 debut film, the period piece RATCATCHER. Then we discuss the Samantha Morton meandering vehicle MORVERN CALLAR. Finally, we discuss the psychological drama WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. We also try to get Batman v. Superman soundbites, forget the name "Kevin" and discuss angry masturbation faces. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

March 06, 2016 05:00 AM PST

On the seventy-sixth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew stumbles out of the woods for one of the darkest episodes yet. Since there are not a lot of options for new films right now, we discuss some of the TV offerings we've been digging into, including: BROAD CITY, BETTER CALL SAUL, LOVE, TRANSPARENT, TOGETHERNESS, MAKING A MURDERER, FARGO, BASKETS, GIRLS, AND HORACE AND PETE. Then, we finally wrap up our Auteurography segment discussing the films of Pier Paolo Pasolini with a discussion of his final film, SALO, OR THE 120 DAYS OF SODOM. Finally, we review the highly anticipated indie horror film, THE WITCH. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

August 16, 2015 03:11 PM PDT

On the sixty-fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew celebrates the end of a hiatus by reconvening outside the comfy confines of the Garage to record over Skype. Fortunately, the first episode in this new format comes with some great films to discuss; including the microbudget feminist tale FELT, and the latest Iranian character drama from Asghar Farhadi ABOUT ELLY. For the Auteurography segment, the gang digs into Pasolini's confounding Terence Stamp vehicle, THEOREM. So, grab your sexual organ art and spend the weekend on the beach with The Third Act Podcast!

Be sure to follow us on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod
and like us on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast
and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

July 11, 2015 10:01 PM PDT

On a bittersweet bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, Christian, Jericho, and Armando say farewell to the garage with one last desperate attempt at relevancy. Secrets are shared. Tears are shed. The audio recording quality is endearingly crappy. A list of favorite "garage scenes in films" are compiled. In keeping with the theme of finality, each member discusses a celebrated filmmaker's last cinematic effort. It's a real smorgasbord of conflicting emotions; culminating in a bonafide rabble-rousing finale that's sure to bring down the house (or, err, in this case, the garage). Questions remain. Will the crew soldier on into uncharted podcasting territory, or is this the end of an era? Only one thing is certain; the garage accepts, the garage cleanses, and the garage forgives.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 06, 2014 04:10 PM PST

On a historic, topically relevant fiftieth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the gang reminiscence about the good old days, look to the podcasting future, and discuss the much-balyhooed THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKING JAY: Part 1. It's a celebratory, though melancholic, first part of an epic 50th blow-out that will likely bring THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the much- deserved critical podcasting plaudits they so richly deserve.

loading more... Loader
 
x

take it with you


Iphone_trans Listening to podcasts on your mobile devices is extremely convenient -- and it's what makes the podcasting medium so powerful.

You can take your favorite shows and mixes with you anywhere, but to do so requires some quick and simple steps.

Let's walk you through that process together.
step 1:


Click the "Subscribe With iTunes" link in the page's sidebar:

Subscribe_with_itunes

This will require that you have the iTunes software on your computer.

(You can download iTunes here.)
step 2:
Itunes_ss

Now that you've subscribed to the podcast on iTunes, the feed will display in your "Podcasts" section on the left navigation bar.

Click there and you'll see the show displayed in the iTunes browser.

You can "get all" to download all available episodes or just individual episodes.
step 3:


Plug your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into your computer with the Dock Connector cable, and click the device in iTunes's left navigation bar.

Itunes_ss2

Once you have your device highlighted, click "Podcasts" in the top navigation bar and sync the podcasts you want on your device. Click "apply" and the episodes you have downloaded on your iTunes software will sync with your device.
that's it!

The beauty of this process is that now, every new episode of your subscribed podcasts will automatically sync to your device every time you plug it in and open iTunes. You can now take your favorite shows with you everywhere you go.

Enjoy!
done!
x

share this podcast


Email a friend about this podcast
x

subscribe to this podcast

Rss-icon RSS
Itunes-icon iTunes