History
Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
...
By ...
Embed:
Copy
Rss
The Third Act Podcast
We watch a lot of films, have a lot of opinions on films, and are just pretentious enough to think that you care
Category: TV & Film
Location:
Followers (4)
Currently following. Unfollow
Picture?width=25&height=25 Image_nophoto Image_nophoto Picture?width=25&height=25
by The Third A...
x
take it with you
Iphone5s_trans go mobile with PodOmatic's new iPhone app.
don't have an iPhone? no problem »
x
loading results... Loader
loading results... Loader
x
No results found.
December 24, 2016 11:24 PM PST

On the ninety-fifth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAS, the crew is in high spirits while celebrating the most important holiday of all, Flicksmas.
We have another jam-packed episode so we skip Recently Watched to discuss the latest entry in the Disney space opera series, ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STORY. Since we are discussing Star Wars we invite your favorite 5 year old podcaster back for another entry of Dex's Quick Picks in which he schools us on the saga. Then we unwrap our gifts as part of our 4th year participating in our favorite holiday for the Merry Flicksmas segment. Our next new film review is for the anti-biopic, JACKIE. Finally, we dig into the faux-documentary Kate Lyn Shiel vehicle, KATE PLAYS CHRISTINE. We also discuss poker analogies, hyperbole, and the ethics of CG resurrection.

Be sure to check out the other of the Merry Flicksmas festivities on episode 128 of The Flicksation Podcast.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 17, 2016 12:05 PM PST

On the ninety-fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is in the middle of of holiday movie season fever dream.
This is a long rambling episode (what else do you expect?). We skip a segment this episode to do 3 new film reviews. The first review is for Tom Ford's stylish sophomore effort, NOCTURNAL ANIMALS. Then, we finally get to talk in depth about Casey on a dock, who is in fact a lock, in MANCHESTER BY THE SEA. Finally, we get into a spoiler-y conversation about Park Chan-Wook's romantic epic, THE HANDMAIDEN. We also discuss Mr. Belvedere (again), how we can't call Dwayne Johnson "The Rock" anymore, and awkward comparisons to Christian's sickness to historic sports performances. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

November 27, 2016 05:40 PM PST

One the ninety-third episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew is reeling from recent events and trying to find solace in (what else?) the movies. The first film up for review is Jeff Nichols' second film of the year, LOVING, which is about an interracial couple and the Supreme Court case about their marriage. Our other new film review is for Denis Villeneuve's contemplative sci-fi film, ARRIVAL. We also discuss Dan the Intern, what Armando is allowed to do on the show, and the other co-hosts try not to make fun of Christian for his ragged emotions.

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

September 22, 2016 08:29 PM PDT

On this very special episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST we talk exclusively about the films of CASEY AFFLECK and the man himself. If this sounds strange then this is probably not an episode for you because really this episode is a birthday present for Christian's wife, Katie.

Casey on a dock is a lock.

April 13, 2016 05:00 AM PDT

On the seventy-eighth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew shuns the multiplexes to dig into some older films from a great director. For our third round of Auteurography we discuss the films of Lynne Ramsay. Since she only has 3 feature films we decided to discuss all of them on one episode since there aren't many 2016 films we want to review. First up is her 1999 debut film, the period piece RATCATCHER. Then we discuss the Samantha Morton meandering vehicle MORVERN CALLAR. Finally, we discuss the psychological drama WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. We also try to get Batman v. Superman soundbites, forget the name "Kevin" and discuss angry masturbation faces. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

March 06, 2016 05:00 AM PST

On the seventy-sixth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew stumbles out of the woods for one of the darkest episodes yet. Since there are not a lot of options for new films right now, we discuss some of the TV offerings we've been digging into, including: BROAD CITY, BETTER CALL SAUL, LOVE, TRANSPARENT, TOGETHERNESS, MAKING A MURDERER, FARGO, BASKETS, GIRLS, AND HORACE AND PETE. Then, we finally wrap up our Auteurography segment discussing the films of Pier Paolo Pasolini with a discussion of his final film, SALO, OR THE 120 DAYS OF SODOM. Finally, we review the highly anticipated indie horror film, THE WITCH. Enjoy!

Keep in touch with us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

August 16, 2015 03:11 PM PDT

On the sixty-fourth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the crew celebrates the end of a hiatus by reconvening outside the comfy confines of the Garage to record over Skype. Fortunately, the first episode in this new format comes with some great films to discuss; including the microbudget feminist tale FELT, and the latest Iranian character drama from Asghar Farhadi ABOUT ELLY. For the Auteurography segment, the gang digs into Pasolini's confounding Terence Stamp vehicle, THEOREM. So, grab your sexual organ art and spend the weekend on the beach with The Third Act Podcast!

Be sure to follow us on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod
and like us on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast
and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

July 11, 2015 10:01 PM PDT

On a bittersweet bonus episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, Christian, Jericho, and Armando say farewell to the garage with one last desperate attempt at relevancy. Secrets are shared. Tears are shed. The audio recording quality is endearingly crappy. A list of favorite "garage scenes in films" are compiled. In keeping with the theme of finality, each member discusses a celebrated filmmaker's last cinematic effort. It's a real smorgasbord of conflicting emotions; culminating in a bonafide rabble-rousing finale that's sure to bring down the house (or, err, in this case, the garage). Questions remain. Will the crew soldier on into uncharted podcasting territory, or is this the end of an era? Only one thing is certain; the garage accepts, the garage cleanses, and the garage forgives.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter: @TheThirdActPod and like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TheThirdActPodcast and email us anytime at: TheThirdActPodcast@gmail.com

December 06, 2014 04:10 PM PST

On a historic, topically relevant fiftieth episode of THE THIRD ACT PODCAST, the gang reminiscence about the good old days, look to the podcasting future, and discuss the much-balyhooed THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKING JAY: Part 1. It's a celebratory, though melancholic, first part of an epic 50th blow-out that will likely bring THE THIRD ACT PODCAST the much- deserved critical podcasting plaudits they so richly deserve.

loading more... Loader
 
x

take it with you


Iphone_trans Listening to podcasts on your mobile devices is extremely convenient -- and it's what makes the podcasting medium so powerful.

You can take your favorite shows and mixes with you anywhere, but to do so requires some quick and simple steps.

Let's walk you through that process together.
step 1:


Click the "Subscribe With iTunes" link in the page's sidebar:

Subscribe_with_itunes

This will require that you have the iTunes software on your computer.

(You can download iTunes here.)
step 2:
Itunes_ss

Now that you've subscribed to the podcast on iTunes, the feed will display in your "Podcasts" section on the left navigation bar.

Click there and you'll see the show displayed in the iTunes browser.

You can "get all" to download all available episodes or just individual episodes.
step 3:


Plug your mobile device (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into your computer with the Dock Connector cable, and click the device in iTunes's left navigation bar.

Itunes_ss2

Once you have your device highlighted, click "Podcasts" in the top navigation bar and sync the podcasts you want on your device. Click "apply" and the episodes you have downloaded on your iTunes software will sync with your device.
that's it!

The beauty of this process is that now, every new episode of your subscribed podcasts will automatically sync to your device every time you plug it in and open iTunes. You can now take your favorite shows with you everywhere you go.

Enjoy!
done!
x

share this podcast


Email a friend about this podcast
x

subscribe to this podcast

Rss-icon RSS
Itunes-icon iTunes